Saturday, 17 November 2012

2.2 Life Cycles Of Animals

1) Animals have different life cycles. A life cycle is a series of stages through which a living thing passes from birth until they mature.

2) The young of some animals do not look like their parents.
    (a) The shapes and sizes of these animals change throughout their life cycles before they look like their parents.
    (b) The young of a butterfly, a grasshopper and a frog do not look like the adult animals. They go through several stages as they grow.

3) Some animals, for example, hamsters and chicks, look like their parents.

Life Cycle Of A Frog

Tadpoles can only live in water but adult frogs can live on land and in water.
Life Cycle Of A Butterfly

The caterpillar and pupa do not have wings like an adult butterfly.

Life Cycle Of A Chicken

1) A hen lays egg.
2) A chicken egg has a hard shell to protect the chick inside.
3) The egg hatches when the chick breaks out of the egg between 3 weeks.
4) A chick looks like its parents.